The Toughest Question

Imagine that you’re in a job interview. The interviewer asks you, “If you could choose one word to describe yourself, what would it be?”

What would you say?

You know that it has to be good.

This could make or break the interview for you.

There has the be the perfect word…

Before today, I would have said ‘driven’. When I got to college, I had a 3.94 GPA for my undergraduate degree. Throughout my first 5 seminary classes, I’ve maintained a 4.0. I’ve served on a state council for Social Studies, presented twice at state conferences and once at a national conference. I’ve been to conferences all over the United States, met and married an amazing woman, bought a house, and am almost out of debt. Driven.

But then I got to thinking… why? Why did I do these things?

For the most part, my reasons are purely selfish. I want to be the best at everything that I do.

When it comes to the furtherance of the Kingdom of God, are your motives selfish or selfless?

1 Corinthians 4:5 says “Therefore judge nothing before the appointed time; wait until the Lord comes. He will bring to light what is hidden in darkness and will expose the motives of the heart. At that time each will receive their praise from God.”

I don’t want to be selfish anymore.

I want my one word to be ‘servant’. A servant of God and a servant of people.

One thought on “The Toughest Question

  1. Pingback: They Might Be Giants | Caffeinated Theologian

Leave a Reply

