A Coffee Mug can Change the World

Coffee MugI love a good cup of coffee. The taste, smell, and conversation that accompanies a good cup of coffee can’t be paralleled. I had a conversation with a friend of mine  the other day about our love for interesting coffee mugs. Not the dollar store specials, but ones with great stories behind them. Case and point…

A few days ago, a student of mine excitedly came up to me in the hallway holding an orange and white coffee cup. She said, “Mr. Love, I got this for you while I was down in Mexico!” How awesome is that? Now, anytime someone asks me about my coffee mug, I have a great conversation piece. I use it daily at school.

Shouldn’t we have the desire to show off the gifts that God has given us?

I sincerely appreciate practicality when it comes to gifts. I want to get others things that they will use on a regular basis, and I appreciate when others do the same for me. The fact that other people knew what I needed and wanted to help meet that need carries enormous worth.

How much more does it mean when the gifts and provision come from the Lord.

James 1:17 says, “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.”

Romans 6:23 says, “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

1 Corinthians 14:1 says, “Pursue love, and earnestly desire the spiritual gifts, especially that you may prophesy.”

I encourage you to remember the gifts that the Lord has given you. Not only the material blessings that he has entrusted us with, but the talents He has given us as well.

It is not our job to bury our talents, but to make sure that we put them on display for all to see. We should happily display the talents that the Lord has given us, and be generous with them. Sing, Dance (yes, dance), act, teach, do it all for the Glory of the Lord. Do it generously, so that others will be prompted to ask you about your gift. Use it as a gateway to ministry.

Are you more willing to show off your coffee mug, or the gifts that God has given you?

Leave a Reply

