Thoughts over a New Year’s Coffee.

What was the first thing that you did this year? For me, the answer was simple: get a haircut.

After accomplishing my mission, I strolled down the quiet uptown street to the local coffee shop. Nothing like a fresh, micro-roasted cup of coffee to start the year off on the right foot. I took a few minutes to begin a book that a pastor friend of mine gave me. Its called A Shot of Faith to the Head by Dr. Mitch Stokes.

It is dense.

A dense read, however, is not always a bad thing. But it was then that the Holy Ghost (and I don’t know why, but I like saying Holy Ghost better than Holy Spirit) reminded me of a foundational truth. I like simplicity. And the gospel of Jesus Christ is simple. There is beauty in the simplicity of the Gospel, knowing that from the very foundation of the world, God knew that he would have to send his son. God cannot be surprised. Yet he loved humanity so much, he created us anyway, knowing that we would fall and need redemption.

Sometimes we get lost in the complexities of life and miss the beauty of God’s simplicity.

I only made it through one chapter of the book this morning, but it proved to be very good. As I made my way back to my car, the Lord struck me with another profound thought…

I teach History at a local high school. I seldom, if ever, read books about History. Instead, I find myself (in my rare free time) reading books by renowned Christian authors and books about theological concepts. God told me to look at what I spend my free time doing. There you will find your passion.

So, I can safely say that I am passionate about drinking coffee, playing racquetball, and learning more about the person of Jesus Christ.

That breeds the question: What truths is the Lord speaking to you today? What are you passionate about? How can you use that passion for the Glory of the Lord?

One thought on “Thoughts over a New Year’s Coffee.

  1. Pingback: Obedience | Caffeinated Theologian

Leave a Reply

